How many feet is a caterpillar have?

All caterpillars have 3 pairs of true legs on the thorax, with joints like our knees and ankles, and a claw on the end. In addition, many species have 2, 3, 4 or 5 pairs of pro legs on the abdomen. These are not segmented, and have small hooks called crochets at the ends