Where does the word gerrymandering come from?

Gerrymandering is a word to describe redrawing congressional districts for political advantage. The origin is from eighteen twelve, in Massachusetts. Elbridge Gerry, who was the governor at the time, altered the shape of an election district that critics showed, had the appearance of a salamander.