When can a baby hold his head up?

When his or her neck muscles become developed enough to hold that massive thing up on its own. Usually around 6-8 weeks but it’s not unusual for it to take longer. Being a third to a quarter of the baby’s total size before only totaling a sixth of its size as the child reaches its full size