Who got the snakes out of ireland?

Apocryphal Christian Folklore attributes the driving of snakes from Ireland to Saint Patrick. In local mythology, this culminated in him fighting the devil, who had transformed himself into a large viper. Patrick dodged the devil's bite, causing him to bite a chunk out of the "Devil's Bit Mountain".