Where does flatulence come from?

When food is ingested, the stomach uses acid to begin breakdown into absorb-able nutrients. It then passes into the intestines where bacteria live that further break down the food so it can be absorbed and used by the body. Both of these actions produce gases which either get reabsorbed or expelled.