When do snakes go into hibernation?

Venomous snakes from North America, such as rattlers, copperheads, and cottonmouths, hibernate when the weather cools down. Snake activity picks up as temperatures fall in late summer and early autumn before they go into hibernation, which can be as early as September or as late as December.