What's an x. o. phone?

XO Communications, LLC (previously Nextlink Communications, Concentric Network Corporation and Allegiance Telecom, Inc.) is a telecommunications company owned by Verizon Communications. XO provides managed and converged Internet Protocol (IP) network services for small and medium-sized enterprises.