Where did farming first develop?

Sometime around 12,000 yrs. ago,our hunter-gatherer ancestors began trying their hand at farming. They grew wild varieties of crops like peas,lentils & barley & herded wild animals like goats & wild oxen in the so-called Fertile Crescent,a region covering eastern Turkey,Iraq & southwestern Iran.