Are fresh eggs supposed to float or sink?

Fresh eggs will sink to the bottom of a cold water bath, and lay on their side if the are super fresh. If they stand up at the bottom they are still good to eat just not as fresh as eggs that lay on the side. If they float they are no longer safe to eat.