Can you call someone on a plane?

Yes & no. Phones are put on airplane mode during a flight, meaning no SMS texts, or phone calls using data services. But some airlines have WiFi on their planes, allowing passengers to stream & stay in contact. This can be used to make voice calls, using web-based apps like WhatsApp or similar apps.