What is the story beowulf about?

Beowulf is a poem in Old English about the hero, Beowulf, who comes to the aid of Hrothgar whose hall has been attacked by Grendel. Beowulf slays Grendel, then Grendel's mother, before going home and becoming king of the Geats. He later fights and dies to a dragon.