What color are babies eyes when they are born?

At birth, a human baby's eyes may appear gray or blue due to lack of pigment. Once exposed to light, the eye color will may change to blue, green, hazel, or brown over a period of six months to one year. This can also occur in some animals (blue kitten eyes may change over time to yellow or green).