Who is mashing pumpkins?

The Smashing Pumpkins are an American alternative rock band from Chicago. Formed in 1988 by frontman Billy Corgan, D'arcy Wretzky, James Iha, and Jimmy Chamberlin, the band has undergone many line-up changes.