What is cibola?

During the Age of Exploration, Alvar Nunez Cabeza de Vaca, returned to Spain and claimed that Native Americans had spoken of Cibola and the 7 cities made of gold. Historians believe that Pueblo tribes may have concocted this myth in order to get the conquistadors to leave their land to pursue gold.