How do you know when oil is hot?

When using a small amount of oil it will shimmer when hot and smoke when too hot. When frying with a lot of oil, dip the handle of a wooden spoon into the oil, if it bubbles, the oil is hot enough to fry food. Alternately, you can throw in a tiny piece of bread to see if it bubbles.