When was sauerkraut invented?

Sauerkraut was invented in ancient China nearly 2000 years ago, by laborers building the Great Wall of China. They began fermenting shredded cabbage in rice wine to preserve it so they would have a food source during the non-growing season.

---

The exact date on which sauerkraut was invented probably cannot be determined. The concept of fermenting cabbage and other vegetables originated in China many centuries ago. Fermented cabbage has likely been around for more than 2,500 years.