Is there a boogie man?

The Boogie man is a mythical creature used by adults to frighten children into good behaviour. The Boogie man has no specific appearance, and conceptions vary drastically by household and culture, but is commonly depicted as a masculine or androgynous monster that punishes children for misbehavior.