Which football team uses real gold in their helmets?

Notre Dame student managers painted the helmets with real gold flakes. Gold flakes from the 24K gold leaf that was scraped from the iconic Golden Dome. The tradition of painting the team's helmets ended in 2011, there are still 23.9-karat gold flakes in the paint of every football helmet.