What does hufflepuff mean in harry potter?

Hufflepuffs are one of four houses the students are split into when first arriving at Hogwarts. They value hard work, patience, loyalty and fair play. The house was named after Helga Hufflepuff and housed the famous Newt Scamander and Cedric Diggory.