What is the prefix pera mean?

A prefix with many meanings, including: alongside of, beside, near, resembling, beyond, apart from, and abnormal. For example, the parathyroid glands are called para-thyroid because they are adjacent to the thyroid. For another example, paraumbilical means alongside the umbilicus (the belly button).