What is the difference between peppermint oil and japenese peppermint oil?

Although it's similar to Peppermint oil, Japanese Peppermint essential oil contains a higher percentage of the chemical constituent menthol, giving it a more potent, minty aroma. For this reason, Japanese Peppermint is often the ingredient of choice in many commercial lozenges.