What is an independent cost?

The term, Independent Cost, is not a thing, it's an adjective that describes things, such as an analysis, estimate, projection, etc, It implies that an unbiased Third Party to a transaction, the Independent, has provided Cost info in a way that both parties see what the costs are, without prejudice.