What was the civil rights act of nineteen sixty five?

In the U.S. there was a Voting Rights Act of 1965 that prohibits racial discrimination in voting. There was a Civil Rights Act of 1964 that outlaws discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, and national origin, later expanded to include sexual orientation and gender identity.