What does gargling salt water do?

Gargling with warm salt water will soothe a sore throat. Segal-Maurer says: You’re creating a high-salt barrier and you’re pulling out a lot of fluids from the tissues in the throat area, so you’re washing the virus out. The salt functions as a magnet for water. It’s good for symptomatic relief.