How do you test if an egg is old?

To test an egg's age, gently set it into a bowl of water. If the egg sinks to the bottom and lays flat on its side, its still fresh. If is sinks, but stands on one end at the bottom of the bowl, its not as fresh but still edible. If it floats to the top, it shouldn't be eaten