What is fibrosis of the liver?

Liver fibrosis occurs when repetitive or long-lasting injury or inflammation causes excessive amounts of scar tissue to build up in the organ. Unlike healthy liver cells, scar tissue cells cannot self-repair or otherwise function, which can reduce overall liver function.