What does super stand for?

According to merriam-webster.com, Super means; of high grade or quality, used as a generalized term of approval, very large or powerful, exhibiting the characteristics of its type to an extreme or excessive degree. As a noun, it is short for SUPERNUMERARY, SUPERINTENDENT, SUPERVISOR, and superhive