What is a composite volcano?

Composite volcanoes, also called stratovolcanoes, are cone-shaped volcanoes built from many layers of lava, pumice, ash, and tephra, or volcanic bombs. Because they are layered, they form tall peaks that may collapse at the top to form a caldera or crater.