Do fish lay down when they sleep?

While fish do not sleep in the same way that land mammals sleep, fish do rest. Fish may reduce their activity and metabolism while remaining alert to danger. Some fish float in place, some wedge themselves into a secure spot in the mud or coral, and some even locate a suitable nest.