How fast does the sun rise?

Anywhere from 2 minutes to 15 hours. Close to the equator, on a day where the sun will pass straight overhead, the disc of the sun with its size of approximately 30 arc minutes (half a degree) will take about 2 minutes (1/720 of the day) to rise from first to last edge.