Is vegetable oil the same as salad oil?

Salad oil is a more generic term for light-tasting oils such as vegetable, canola, or corn. While vegetable oils can be used for cooking over heat, anything specifically labeled "salad oil" is processed differently and should not be used for cooking over heat.