When do you trim hydrangea bushes?

Annabelle Hydrangea (H. arborescens) are usually pruned in the summer following spring blooming. Some people choose to prune them to the ground in late winter or trim dead growth in early spring just prior to blooming. Climbing Hydrangea (H. anamala) often does not require pruning.