Who are the maya?

Maya civilization developed c. 2000 BC to 250 AD. It established 1st complex societies in Maya region &cultivation of staple crops. Noted for script or glyphs-highly developed writing system in pre-Columbian Americas-&for its art, architecture, mathematics, calendar, &astronomical system. Wikipedia