Do forks go on the right or left side of the plate?

In a typical place setting, forks go to the left of the plate while knives and spoons go to the right of the plate. The only exceptions are the oyster fork (if used), which is placed to the right of the setting, and the dessert fork (if pre-set), placed above the plate with the handle facing left.