Is cool as a cucumber a metaphor?

Idiomatic expressions might be obviously metaphoric, or their true meanings might be far from obvious. The idiom "as cool as a cucumber" is relatively transparent, conjuring a person who remains cool, calm, and collected in a difficult situation.