What year did rap music start?

Formed in New York City in the late 70's, the Sugar Hill Gang is one of the pioneering acts of hip-hop. Their 1979 single, Rapper's Delight, was arguably the first rap song to be played on the radio and the first hip-hop single to be a Top 40 chart hit.