What happened in the context of jim crow?

Jim Crow laws mandated racial segregation in all public facilities in the states of the former Confederate States of America beginning in the 1870s. Jim Crow laws were upheld in 1896 when the U.S. Supreme Court laid out its "separate but equal" legal doctrine for facilities for African Americans.