Why does cheese stink?

Special bacteria are added to some cheeses, and they are responsible for most of the eventual taste and smell of aged cheeses. Some cheeses, such as brie, are ripened using special molds that break down milk proteins for a creamy texture. These molds can also contribute to a cheese's smell