How deep have we been in the ocean?

The deepest ocean dive to date was made in May 2019 by Victor Vescovo. He descended 35,849 ft, which is nearly 7 miles, into the Pacific Ocean's Mariana Trench. Mr. Vescovo spent 4 hours exploring the bottom of the trench in his submersible. He found sea creatures and plastic waste.