Who said don't fire until you see the whites of their eyes?

Don't react to a situation too early. This saying comes from an order allegedly given by American officer William Prescott at the Battle of Bunker Hill in the American Revolutionary War.

---

William Prescott, an American officer at the Battle of Bunker Hill in the Revolutionary War.