How does the nuclear bomb work?

Nuclear bombs involve the forces that hold the nucleus of an atom together. There are two ways: 1) nuclear fission - the nucleus of an atom is split into two smaller fragments with a neutron; 2) nuclear fusion - involves bringing together two smaller atoms to form a larger one.