Was penny marshall laverne or shirley?

Carole Penny Marshall was an American actress, director, and producer. She came to notice in the 1970s for her role as Laverne DeFazio on the television sitcom Laverne & Shirley, receiving three nominations for the Golden Globe Award for Best Actress Television Series Musical or Comedy.