What's blitz mean?

A blitz is an American football term that refers to when the defensive line pushes in to attempt to sack the quarterback of the offensive team.

---

In football, it's a defensive play that's designed to rush the quarterback with more defenders than there are blockers, leaving the quarterback vulnerable.