How strong is glass?

Glass typically has a tensile strength of 7 megapascals (1,000 psi), but in theory it can have a strength of 17 gigapascals (2,500,000 psi) due to glass's strong chemical bonds. Imperfections on glass such as scratches and bubbles decrease the strength of glass.