Can pineapple induce labor?

Eating pineapple or drinking the juice has not been proven to induce labor. Pineapple (& its tropical cousin papaya) contains the enzyme bromelain, believed by some to soften the cervix and trigger contractions, but no research has shown that bromelain or pineapple actually have this effect.