Why do they call it pickleball?

It was named after a pickle boat, where oarsmen are chosen from the leftovers from other boats. The game was invented in 1965 by three men who wanted to play badminton but could not find a shuttlecock. They improvised with a wiffleball, lowered the net, and fabricated paddles of plywood.