What do wild rabbits eat in the winter?

In the winter wild rabbits will eat lower nutrient bark, tree and bush buds, and twigs. The second thing they eat is their cecotropes which is partially digested food. This will allow their digestive system another chance to glean even more energy from the food they’ve already eaten.