What's the recipe for chitlins?

Place clean chitterlings in a large pot w 5 c of water. Add 2 large chopped onions, 2 bay leaves, 2 t salt, dash pepper, 2 cloves garlic (minced). Boil until tender (2 hours). Drain & cut into small pieces. Dip in 1 egg w 1T water. Dip in 1 c of finely crushed crackers. Fry until brown in 3 c oil