What repels earwigs?

A garlic and pepper spray may effectively deter earwig feeding on valued plants. An appropriate spray could contain, for example, six cloves of garlic, 1 tablespoon of cayenne pepper and 1 tablespoon biodegradable dishwashing liquid blended together in 1 quart of water.