How big is a whale's throat?

Most whales have remarkably small throats. For instance, Blue whales feed on krill, so despite the fact that they are the largest animal alive, they have throats that are 4 to 8" in diameter. Sperm whales, which feed on giant squid, may be the sole exception with a throat roughly 24" in diameter.